Exploring the Twelve Houses: Insights into Livelihood, Health, Happiness, and More

Tess McCarthy

Hatched by Tess McCarthy

Jun 17, 2024

4 min read


Exploring the Twelve Houses: Insights into Livelihood, Health, Happiness, and More


In astrology, the twelve houses of the natal chart play a crucial role in understanding various aspects of our lives. Each house represents a different area of life, shedding light on our personality, strengths, weaknesses, and potential. In this article, we will delve into four of these houses - the second, sixth, fifth, and eighth - and uncover their significance in terms of livelihood, health, happiness, and unseen influences.

The Second House: Livelihood, Possessions, Money Matters:

Known as the Gate of Hades in Hellenistic astrology, the second house holds sway over money matters, access to resources, and our keys to wealth. This house not only reflects our financial standing but also reveals insights into our physical body and wellbeing. It acts as a support system for the first house, emphasizing the importance of stability and security in our lives.

The Sixth House: Occupation, Productivity, Service, Health:

As the last house in each quadrant of the natal chart, the sixth house signifies areas of learning and growth for us. Ruled by Mercury and the element earth, it represents our everyday life, including our work, labors, and job. Moreover, it offers valuable insights into our physical health, body, and overall wellness. While planets in this house may have less impact on our life path, they indicate areas where we must transform ourselves and further develop our strengths.

The Fifth House: Children, Pursuit of Happiness, Leisure:

The fifth house, ruled by the sun and the element fire, is a house of creativity, fertility, and personal pursuits. It represents our creations, children, hobbies, and areas of interest. Additionally, it sheds light on our love affairs and secondary relationships. Known as the House of Good Fortune, the fifth house reveals the nature of blessings we are likely to possess and the factors that bring us joy and happiness. Understanding this house can guide us in navigating society and making the most of our unique personality traits.

The Eighth House: Sex, Death, Transformation, Unseen Influences, and Inheritances:

The eighth house, ruled by Mars and Pluto, governs inheritances, sexuality, power, risk, and transformation. It represents the shadow or darker side of ourselves that we must learn to deal with. This house also unveils unseen influences in our lives and signifies potential phases of transformation and crisis. Traditionally, matters related to inheritance and estates are interpreted from the eighth house, highlighting the importance of being aware of power plays and understanding our own desires and temptations.

Common Threads and Insights:

As we examine these four houses, we notice several common points that connect them naturally. The second, sixth, and eighth houses are all succeedent houses, providing support to the preceding angular house. They emphasize the significance of stability, security, and understanding our own desires and temptations. On the other hand, the fifth house, also a succeedent house, supports the angular fourth house and represents personal pursuits, creativity, and happiness.

Actionable Advice:

  • 1. Understand Your Key to Wealth: Explore the second house in your natal chart to gain insights into your money matters, access to resources, and keys to wealth. Utilize this knowledge to make informed financial decisions and create a stable foundation for your livelihood.
  • 2. Prioritize Your Health and Wellbeing: Pay attention to the sixth house in your chart, which reveals important information about your physical health, daily work, and labors. Embrace opportunities for growth and improvement, transforming weaknesses into strengths, and prioritize self-care for overall wellbeing.
  • 3. Nurture Your Happiness and Pursuits: Delve into the fifth house in your natal chart to understand your personal pursuits, hobbies, and areas of interest. Use this knowledge to cultivate joy, navigate societal expectations, and make choices that align with your unique personality disposition.


By exploring the twelve houses of the natal chart, we gain valuable insights into various aspects of our lives. The second house provides support for our livelihood and possessions, the sixth house guides us in our occupation and health, the fifth house illuminates our pursuit of happiness and leisure, and the eighth house reveals unseen influences and transformations. By understanding these houses and taking actionable steps, we can make the most of our strengths, navigate challenges, and lead fulfilling lives.

Hatch New Ideas with Glasp AI 🐣

Glasp AI allows you to hatch new ideas based on your curated content. Let's curate and create with Glasp AI :)