The Twelve Houses: Exploring Life's Key Aspects through Astrology

Tess McCarthy

Hatched by Tess McCarthy

Sep 06, 2023

4 min read


The Twelve Houses: Exploring Life's Key Aspects through Astrology


Astrology has long been used as a tool for self-discovery and understanding various aspects of our lives. The Twelve Houses in astrology represent different areas of our existence, from our livelihood and possessions to our relationships and personal pursuits. In this article, we will delve into four of these houses - the Second House, the Sixth House, the Fifth House, and the Eighth House - and explore their significance and influence on our lives.

The Second House: Livelihood, Possessions, Money Matters

As a succeedent house, the second house provides support to the angular first house. It speaks to our belongings, what is ours, and what supports our overall well-being. In terms of chart interpretation, the second house is associated with money matters, access to resources, and our keys to wealth. Additionally, it relates to our physical body. It is interesting to note that the second house is known in Hellenistic astrology as the Gate of Hades, reflecting its connection to the underworld and the influence of Persephone.

The Sixth House: Occupation, Productivity, Service, Health

As a cadent house, the sixth house represents areas of learning and personal growth. Planets in this house may have a lesser impact on our manifested life path, but they indicate areas where we must transform ourselves and further develop from weakness to strength. Ruled by Mercury and the element earth, the sixth house is associated with our everyday life, work, labors, and job. It offers insights into our physical health, body, and overall wellness.

The Fifth House: Children, Pursuit of Happiness, Leisure

Similar to the second house, the fifth house is a succeedent house that provides support to the preceding angular fourth house. Ruled by the sun and the element fire, it is the house of creativity, fertility, and personal pursuits. The fifth house reveals our hobbies, areas of general interest, and can indicate our love affairs and secondary relationships. Additionally, it is known as the House of Good Fortune, shedding light on the blessings we are likely to possess and what brings us joy and happiness.

The Eighth House: Sex, Death, Transformation, Unseen Influences, and Inheritances

The eighth house, also a succeedent house, supports the angular seventh house. It is ruled by Mars and Pluto and governed by the element water. This house encompasses inheritances, sexuality, power, risk, desires, and the shadow aspects of ourselves. It signifies potential phases of transformation and crisis in our lives, urging us to pay attention and prepare. Matters pertaining to inheritance and estates are traditionally interpreted from the eighth house, and it reveals otherwise unseen influences in our lives.

Connecting the Houses:

While each house has its unique qualities and significance, there are common threads that connect them. For instance, the second house and the sixth house both touch upon our livelihood and work. The second house focuses on our possessions and wealth, while the sixth house emphasizes our daily job, labor, and health. Incorporating insights from both houses can provide a holistic understanding of our overall well-being, both financially and physically.

Similarly, the fifth house and the eighth house both touch upon our personal pursuits and relationships. The fifth house reveals our hobbies, interests, and love affairs, while the eighth house delves into the deeper aspects of our relationships, including sexuality and inheritances. Understanding how these houses interact can provide valuable insights into our interpersonal dynamics and personal growth.

Actionable Advice:

  • 1. Reflect on your financial situation and resources: Take a closer look at your second house and analyze your access to wealth and possessions. Consider how you can leverage your resources to support your overall well-being and pursue your passions.
  • 2. Prioritize self-care and overall wellness: Explore the sixth house and pay attention to your physical health and daily routines. Incorporate healthy habits and practices that nurture your well-being. Remember that self-improvement and personal growth are ongoing processes.
  • 3. Embrace creativity and pursue what brings you joy: Dive into the fifth house and explore your hobbies, interests, and personal pursuits. Identify activities that bring you happiness and fulfillment, and make time for them regularly. Cultivating your passions can enhance your overall sense of well-being.


Astrology offers valuable insights into different aspects of our lives, as represented by the Twelve Houses. By understanding the significance of each house and how they connect, we can gain a deeper understanding of ourselves and navigate life's challenges with greater clarity. Reflect on the advice provided in this article and take proactive steps to enhance your livelihood, well-being, and personal growth. Remember, astrology is a tool for self-discovery and empowerment, guiding us towards a more fulfilling and meaningful life journey.

Hatch New Ideas with Glasp AI 🐣

Glasp AI allows you to hatch new ideas based on your curated content. Let's curate and create with Glasp AI :)