Exploring the Astrological Houses: Insights into Livelihood, Health, Happiness, and Transformation

Tess McCarthy

Hatched by Tess McCarthy

Oct 23, 2023

4 min read


Exploring the Astrological Houses: Insights into Livelihood, Health, Happiness, and Transformation


Astrology has long been used as a tool for self-discovery and understanding. By analyzing the twelve houses in a natal chart, we can gain valuable insights into different aspects of our lives. In this article, we will delve into four specific houses - the second, sixth, fifth, and eighth - and explore how they influence our livelihood, health, happiness, and transformation.

The Second House: Livelihood, Possessions, Money Matters:

Known as the Gate of Hades in Hellenistic astrology, the second house plays a crucial role in our financial well-being and material possessions. It supports the first house, which represents our sense of self and identity. This house reveals our access to resources and keys to wealth. Additionally, it offers insights into our physical body and health. By analyzing the second house in conjunction with the sixth house, we can gain a comprehensive understanding of our overall well-being.

The Sixth House: Occupation, Productivity, Service, Health:

As the last house in each quadrant of the natal chart, the sixth house signifies areas of learning and transformation. While planets in this house may have a lesser impact on our life path, they indicate areas where we must nurture ourselves and grow. Ruled by Mercury and associated with the element earth, the sixth house represents our daily work, labors, and job. It also offers insights into our physical health and well-being. By understanding the sixth house, we can identify our core competencies and capitalize on them for work and employment.

The Fifth House: Children, Pursuit of Happiness, Leisure:

Supporting the fourth house, the fifth house is ruled by the sun and represents creativity, fertility, and personal pursuits. It sheds light on our hobbies, areas of general interest, and love affairs. This house is often referred to as the House of Good Fortune, as it reveals the nature of blessings we are likely to possess in this lifetime. Additionally, it guides us in understanding what brings us joy and happiness. By embracing the energies of the fifth house, we can navigate society successfully and align our passions with our personality disposition.

The Eighth House: Sex, Death, Transformation, Unseen Influences, and Inheritances:

Supporting the seventh house, the eighth house holds significant power and influence. Ruled by Mars and Pluto, it represents inheritances, sexuality, power, and the shadow aspects of ourselves. This house signifies potential phases of transformation, crisis, and waste in our lives. It also reveals otherwise unseen influences and power plays. Matters pertaining to inheritance and estates are often interpreted from the eighth house. By understanding the energies of this house, we can navigate the depths of our psyche and embrace personal growth and transformation.

Mercury Conjunct Pluto Natal and Transit:

In astrology, various planetary transits can influence our lives. The Mercury conjunct Pluto transit is known for adding depth and intensity to our thinking and communication patterns. It allows us to uncover secrets, study occult subjects, and gain a thorough understanding of mysteries. This transit supports psychological self-analysis and can lead to profound discoveries about ourselves. However, it is important to be mindful of using our mental powers responsibly and avoiding deception or overbearing behavior. Nervous conditions may arise due to the intensity of our thoughts. By relaxing and embracing the transformative nature of this transit, we can experience spiritual growth and transcend our physical limitations.

Actionable Advice:

  • 1. Embrace self-reflection and study during the Mercury conjunct Pluto transit. Use this time to gain a deeper understanding of yourself and the dynamics of your relationships.
  • 2. Focus on using your mental powers responsibly. Avoid manipulation or deception and instead share spiritual truths and knowledge for the benefit of others.
  • 3. Prioritize self-care and relaxation during intense transits. Take breaks, engage in activities that bring you joy, and seek support if needed.


By exploring the astrological houses and understanding their influence on different aspects of our lives, we can gain invaluable insights and guidance. The second, sixth, fifth, and eighth houses shed light on livelihood, health, happiness, and transformation. Additionally, planetary transits like the Mercury conjunct Pluto offer opportunities for self-discovery and growth. By embracing these insights and taking actionable steps, we can navigate life with a deeper understanding of ourselves and the world around us.

Hatch New Ideas with Glasp AI 🐣

Glasp AI allows you to hatch new ideas based on your curated content. Let's curate and create with Glasp AI :)